Records of the Past, 2nd Series, Vol. III

Masonic, Occult and Esoteric Online Library

Records of the Past, 2nd Series, Vol. III

By A. H. Sayce

The Kings of Persia


1. Akhæmenês (Hakhâmanish)                                                                                          —

2. Teispes (Chaispaish), his son. He conquers Susiania and rules in Anzan                    cir. 600

3. Ariaramnês (Ariyârâmna), son of Teispes, in Persia                                                       —

3. Kyros I (Kuras), son of Teispes, in Anzan                                                                       —

4. Arsamês (Arshâma), son of Ariaramnês, in Persia                                                         —

4. Kambysês. I (Kamujyiya), son of Kyros, in Anzan                                                          —

5. Kyros II, or Agradatês, son of Kambysês, in Anzan. He conquers Media,

    and founds the Persian empire                                                                                     550

6. Kambysês II, his son                                                                                                     529

7. Gomatês (Gaumata) the Magian, the pseudo-Bardes or Smerdis,

    usurps the throne for seven months                                                                              521

8. Dareios (Dârayavaush), son of Hystaspês (Vishtâspa) and grandson of Arsamês       521

9. Xerxes I (Khshayârshâ), his son                                                                                    485

10. Artaxerxês I (Artakshatra) Longimanus, his son                                                           465

11. Xerxes II, his son, for 2 months                                                                                     425



12. Sogdianos, his half-brother, for 7 months                                                                      425

13. Dareios II Nothos (Okhos), his brother 1                                                                        424

14. Artaxerxes II Mnêmôn, his son 1                                                                                    405


Revolt of Kyros the younger                                                                                                  401

15. Okhos (Uvasu), son of Artaxerxes                                                                                   362

16. Arsês his son                                                                                                                   339

17. Dareios III Kodomannos                                                                                                  336


Conquered by Alexander                                                                                                       330






Printed by R. & R. CLARK, Edinburgh


131:1 A cuneiform tablet, however, gives the length of the reigns of Dareios II, and Artaxerxes II, as respectively 29 and 36 years.



Masonic Publishing Company

Purchase This Title

Browse Titles
"If I have seen further than
others, it is by standing
upon the shoulders of giants."


Comasonic Logo

Co-Masonry, Co-Freemasonry, Women's Freemasonry, Men and Women, Mixed Masonry

Copyright © 1975-2022 Universal Co-Masonry, The American Federation of Human Rights, Inc. All Rights Reserved.