Degrees of Freemasonry

Stages of the Masonic Journey


An Unbroken Chain of Duty

The Honorable Order of Universal Co-Masonry, heir to the ancient traditions whose wise principles, moral force, and discipline it has maintained, has preserved the rules of the past used by the first Masonic Orders. The order has also maintained the signs, grips, sacred words, and passwords of the Ancient and Accepted Scottish Rite and York Rite, employed as a means of recognition by a large number of the Freemasons scattered throughout the world.

All members of the Order form but one family of Brothers, and are part of an Institution which permits them to be recognized by Freemasons of whatsoever Rite and to recognize also all Freemasons throughout the world.

The Masonic Degrees consisting of the thirty-three degrees of the Ancient and Accepted Scottish Rite in addition to the Royal Arch Degrees of the Ancient and Accepted York Rite have been reunited by the Order of universal Co-Masonry under the structure of the Ancient and Accepted Universal Rite. This rite is not a new rite, it is not an invention or creation of Universal Co-Masonry. It is the recombination of that which has been divided and separated by time and circumstances. Universal Co-Masonry believes that the degrees of Freemasonry form one cohesive legend and that each part is essential to a Freemason's understanding of their historical and symbolic significance. These degrees are designated as follows:

Symbolic Masonry "Symbolic Degrees"
1 - Entered Apprentice
2 - Fellowcraft
3 - Master Mason

English Rite (or York Rite) "Chapter Degrees"
Mark Master Mason
Royal Ark Mariner
Excellent Master
Holy Royal Arch of Jerusalem

Lodge of Perfection "Ineffable Degrees"
4 - Secret Master
5 - Perfect Master
6 - Intimate Secretary
7 - Provost & Judge
8 - Intendant of the Building
9 - Master Elect of Nine
10 - Master Elect of Fifteen
11 - Sublime Master Elect
12 - Grand Master Architect
13 - Royal Arch of Enoch
14 - Grand Elect and Sublime Mason

Chapter Rose Croix "Historic Degrees"
15 - Knight of the East
16 - Prince of Jerusalem
17 - Knight of the East & West
18 - Knight of Rose Croix of Heredom

Council Kadosh "Philosophical and chivalric Degrees"
19 - Grand Pontiff or Sublime Scottish Knight
20 - Sovereign Prince or Master ad Vitam
21 - Noachite or Prussian Knight
22 - Prince of Lebanon or Royal Axe
23 - Chief of the Tabernacle
24 - Prince of the Tabernacle
25 - Knight of the Brazen Serpent
26 - Prince of Mercy
27 - Sovereign Commander of the Temple
28 - Knight of the Sun, Prince Adept
29 - Knight of Saint Andrew
30 - Knight Kadosh

Consistory "Official and Ceremonial Degrees"
31 - Grand Inquisitor Commanders
32 - Sublime Prince of the Royal Secret

Court of Honor "Honorary Degrees"
33 - Grand Inspector General

Degrees, in our Order, are conferred on merit and ability. Specific requirements, such as time and examination, are necessary to progress, but ultimately one's commitment - to their brethren in particular and to the Order in General - will grant them access to higher degrees. For example, to attain the 32nd Degree, a Freemason must be a Master Mason for at least 14 years, have been elected Master of Lodge, and must have served the Supreme Council with satisfaction.

The Supreme Council may, at any time, authorize the establishment of other Masonic bodies not currently practiced.


Interested in becoming a member of the worlds oldest Fraternal organization?

Read More
Co-Masonic Rituals

Explore the history of the Co-Masonic Ritual used by Universal Co-Masonry.

Read More
Comasonic Logo

Co-Masonry, Co-Freemasonry, Women's Freemasonry, Men and Women, Mixed Masonry

Copyright © 1975-2024 Universal Co-Masonry, The American Federation of Human Rights, Inc. All Rights Reserved.